X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • CC Clarke
    Lieutenant Commander
    • Aug 2020

3D Kick-Off!

Since I bear partial responsibility for suggesting the creation of this sub-forum, it's fitting punishment for me to lead off with the first post.

Editor's Note to Bob: If you agree, could you add a second section for 3D Modeling, since 3D printing and modeling are as separate as skimmers and submarines, oil and water, and the like? If a 3D modeling section is created, please move this post there.

With that said, I spent four hours today writing a course outline for a Hard Surface (as opposed to organic) 3D modeling course. It walks an absolute beginner through setting up the software, showing the user interface, introduces basic modeling tools and techniques, and follows up with a tutorial to create your very-own, 637-class Sturgeon 3D model suitable for 3D printing. I'll supply a link to a free, thirty-day, full-featured trial version.) It's a cradle-to-grave, soup-to-nuts, sort of tutorial.

All you need is desire, some mental elbow grease, and access to a 3D printer.

The modeling tutorial is designed to be application-agnostic as much as possible, so if you're more comfortable with some other 3D modeling program --like Blender, but have trouble getting started on a project, (not a CAD program, that's different) you should be able to adapt the lessons for your own use.

Because it's a 30-day software trial, I have to have all the lessons completed before presenting them to allow everyone who takes up the challenge to get submerged in the software, build the submarine model and get the result converted to a printer or CAD-friendly STL format without having to rush.

The ultimate goal is to learn something new and have fun! I'll provide a link to the (free) slicer I use daily, show you how to set it up, and get it printed.