• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Qwenther
    Ensign
    • Jun 2023

The Project has Begun: Revell 1/72 Gato build

Captains log, June 19th, 2023.
    The project begins. I've acquired a kit for the Revell Gato class submarine and now it's time to build her. I've always wanted an rc submarine, now it's time to add one to my ever growing RC collection. I've decided to go all out with the details despite it being my first sub build. Now, I'm no newbie when it comes to building models, but I admit this will likely be a fun challenge. I have started the hull basic assembly, partially following the video set. I'm assembling my own customized WTC, as I will be implementing a lot of feature namely torpedo tubes and running lights. I have managed to make my own launchers thanks to the reference material found on here. I look forward to building and sailing this magnificent and historic vessel. I hope to be able to gain from the wisdom and experience of the fellow builders and sailors here.​
  • redboat219
    Admiral
    • Dec 2008

Originally posted by Qwenther
    I will be implementing a lot of feature namely torpedo tubes and running lights.

Prioritize building the hull and WTC first and making the boat functional then customize.
    Make it simple, make strong, make it work!

Comment

• Qwenther
      Ensign
      • Jun 2023

Originally posted by redboat219

Prioritize building the hull and WTC first and making the boat functional then customize.
      I admit I tend to work on extraneous stuff when I only have a few minutes or I'm waiting on parts to arrive. I do have 2 questions I need answers to though. 1, what is the common I.D. for the 2.5" diameter subdriver? Is it 2 1/4" or 2 3/8" ID. And 2, how much begging will I have to do to get my hands on this.

Comment

• He Who Shall Not Be Named
        • Aug 2008

Originally posted by Qwenther