RC transmitter and receiver for DIY submarine (control+video feed)

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • laukejas
    Ensign
    • Oct 2021

RC transmitter and receiver for DIY submarine (control+video feed)

Hi,

I'm just getting into RC submarine hobby. I am designing a RC submarine for lake bottom exploration. I plan to go as deep as 10 meters, and as far as 100 meters. I am looking for a transmitter/receiver pair that would allow me to send controls to the submarine from the controller, and receive video feed from the submarine to the controller or laptop.

Most of the transmitters/receivers and controllers I find operate in 2.4 Ghz, which is very bad for water penetration. Ideally I want something like 40 Mhz or even lower (there are no legal regulations in my country regarding RC submarine frequencies), assuming such low frequency can be used to transmit live video feed.

I live in Lithuania, so most of the options available to USA folks are not available to me, or are expensive as hell to ship. I am looking for something that could be bought on Aliexpress/Ebay, preferably under $200 for the whole setup (excluding the camera, if it can be plugged in separately).

Are there any options for this, or will I have to build my own transmitter/receiver and controller? If so, any similar projects or tutorials? Would really appreciate someone putting me on the right direction. Thanks!
  • RCSubGuy
    Welcome to my underwater realm!
    • Aug 2009

Not to bash you, but I get this sort of question all the time.

"I want to drive my yet to be built submarine that I have no experience with a mile away and a hundred feet deep through salt water while carry a 10kg payload and traveling at 15 knots, all while videoing everything it sees and relaying to me in real time. Oh, and I have a budget of $75. Please send me all details immediately."