• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • ManOwaR
    Lieutenant Commander
    • Jul 2009

Hmk 1/72 hms astute

Hello again,

For those that aren’t familiar with me, my name is Joel Stadnick and am the owner and sole model maker at HMK Creations – a part time business that allows me to make a few extra dollars here and there by making submarine kits, a bit of finishing carpentry, and instrumentation consultation on the side. By day, I’m an instructor of instrumentation technology and apprenticeship at the Southern Alberta Institute of Technology. My background includes many years of construction experience all the way from cabinet building to industrial instrument installation
    I’m back with another project in the form of HMS Astute in 1/72 scale – another large scale model submarine to compliment my small line of subs: Permit class, Jack (modified Permit) and Seawolf class. The Astute promises to have more detail than anything I have done up to this point, and in its building will display some (hopefully) great new experimental building and detailing techniques I have come across.

My reasons for doing Astute? The number one reason is that I just love the lines the designers put on this boat…especially the front end where it looks like some sort of dragon or crocodile poking its ominous eyes above the water looking for prey. I’ll be honest though, when I first saw initial pictures of the boat at its launching I wasn’t impressed, especially by the aft humpback. Time has made me do a 180 on the subject. I liken it to an album done by a good band, the true beauty and genius doesn’t start to de-cloak itself until after multiple listening sessions!

https://www.facebook.com/HMKcreations
  • ManOwaR
    Lieutenant Commander
    • Jul 2009