X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • jlabow
    Lieutenant, Junior Grade
    • Oct 2012

Independent Shaft Control

I'm a squeeky new newbie to submarine RC although I have lots of experience with surface RC. I have viewed Dave's 5 DVD series on the 1/72 Gato and have been lurking on the forum for a while so this is the first of what will doubtless be a long series of questions. With scale surface ships there is a big advantage to independent control of the shafts in twin shaft craft since it allows the handling to mimic the real thing pretty closely. Is this possible/worth doing in the 1/72 Gato. Specifically, can an extra speed controller be shoehorned into the equipment space? My tired old AM Ace Nautical Commander is over the hill...does anyone have any experience with the Robbe F14 Navy twin throttle radio?

Thanks for your patience,
    Joel Labow
  • He Who Shall Not Be Named
    • Aug 2008

hey, Joel,

You've seen me in action, and you still want to talk to me?!

What's wrong with you!

There's room in the 2.5 GATO SD for a second ESC. Sure, differential use of the shafts is possible and relatively easy to achieve. Just re-wire the motors and you're good to go.

Get the WFly computer transmitter, unless you are stuck on the superior two-stick throttle set up of the F-14.

Welcome aboard, mind the Snipes.

David
    Who is John Galt?

Comment

• jlabow
      Lieutenant, Junior Grade
      • Oct 2012

Snipe avoidance/twin throttle control

Dave,
      Whew...thanks for letting me live! WRT snipes, I tried never to set foot below the main deck unless I was compelled (I was WEAPS/NAV) back in the 60's)! I have downloaded the WFLY manual from the site and I don't see how it could be configured to control 2 throttles.

Joel

Comment

• Aug 2008

hey, shipmate ...