• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • actioncia
    Lieutenant, Junior Grade
    • Aug 2008

RE: Ballast Tank

Okay,

I am very new in this submarine building but I am not seeing lots of emphasis is being placed on the dive and surface system for the sub or I have been looking into the wrong place. While I was pulling my hair off building the little Kilo, I overlooked one critical factor. If the sub is not submersing and surfacing, what I've got is just a boat. I've bought one of the micro pump and it finally dawn on me that I need to work on the ballast system first and make sure it dives surfaces then the rest should be relatively straightforward. Good to meet all of you here and I welcome any suggestions.
  • Kazzer
    • Aug 2008

Give us a list of what you've purchased, and some photos. Then we can see what's going on and help you better.
    Stop messing about - just get a Sub-driver!

Comment

• actioncia
      Lieutenant, Junior Grade
      • Aug 2008

RE: Ballast tank

I bought Dave's experimental kit for the kilo where I had to fabricate pretty much everything from scratch ranging from dive plane to fixture to hold the two servos that actuate the dive plane and rudder then I was trying to fit the smart pump inside of 6" WTC which did not go as plan and I personally do not understand just inflating and deflating a ballon would really change my buoyancy. Anyway, later I discovered caswell and having talking with Mike, he suggested on getting a micro pump with controller for their SNORT system. For my ballast tank I've got a schrader valve that is cut off from the bottom half way just so an arm can deflate the valve and one end that has the blow air from the micro pump. My ballast tank has two hole in the bottom for water to come in. Right now I am still trying to get the arm to push the schrader valve every time. Regards,

Comment

• He Who Shall Not Be Named
        • Aug 2008

Originally posted by actioncia