Does anyone know the best quadcopter to buy for a beginner?

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Kazzer
    • Aug 2008

Does anyone know the best quadcopter to buy for a beginner?

I'm really interested in learning to fly a quad-coptor. Any ideas welcome. Thanks
    Stop messing about - just get a Sub-driver!
  • Subculture
    Admiral
    • Feb 2009

Can't give any direct recommendations, as this is one form of R/C flying I haven't tried personally, although I have been flying fixed wing for many years and dabbled in helicopters (very small ones). In my experience lighter machines are easier to fly, and when they crash they tend to bounce rather than break, which is easy on the wallet and the ego.

Comment

• KevinMc
      Commander
      • Feb 2009

In a similar vein to Andy's comments, I'd also specifically get something that your local hobby shop has parts for! Accept that it's going to get broken while you learn, so you may as well choose something that you can repair quickly and get back into the air.

On the other hand, maybe you're looking to get so deep into it that we're talking about one of those machines that does all the flying for itself and you're just "suggesting" which direction it moves in. ;)
      Kevin McLeod - Oscar II driver
      KMc Designs

Comment

• He Who Shall Not Be Named
        • Aug 2008

Home-Land Security: call your office!

M
        Who is John Galt?

Comment

• red_noir
          Lieutenant, Junior Grade
          • Jun 2009

Hobbyking - the world's No1 Online Hobby Store. We stock a huge selection of RC products from Planes right through to Drones and all accessories. Visit Us Today.

heres a good place to start.

chuck

Comment

• alad61
            Commander
            • Jan 2012