• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • hobbytrax
    Ensign
    • May 2024

ArkModel piston tank wiring

Hello,
    Really stuck with this one. I've been tasked with building the dive tube for an ArkModel submarine, something I have never done before however...
    I've got everything on the RC side working but the piston tank refuses to move at all when connected to the Ballast Tank Control Unit (BCU)
    The piston tank is supplied pre-wired with three microswitches and a motor, but when I compare the actual wiring wiring to that on the diagram, the motor is connected the other way round.
    I did find a post on here from a couple of years back where someone had the exact same problem and concluded BOTH the diagram and the supplied wiring was wrong, but didn't say what is the right answer. I'm hoping someone can help me.
    Interestingly I removed the wiring from the motor and applied 12VDC direct to the motor. This moved the piston rod but NOT the pilot shaft (I was trying to understand how the microswitches worked but this has confused me even more!) I've seen generic wiring diagrams showing 2 or 4 microswitches, but never one that's got only 3. I assumed both piston rod and pilot shaft would move together but they don't seem to.
    I've been onto ArkModel who asked for a video, however when I tried it again this morning the motor seems seized and I can't get it to move in either direction.
    Can someone explain how the motor and microswitches should be wired and when the pilot shaft should move?
    I've attached a couple of photo's
    Many thanks!
    Trevor.
    Attached Files
  • type7
    Lieutenant Commander
    • Apr 2009