X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Henk Freubelaer
    Lieutenant, Junior Grade
    • Sep 2020

Good day to all,

I don't know if it is custom on this forum but I want to introduce my self as a new member before I start firing questions.

I am a military veteran from the Netherlands and (hard to admit) suffering PTSD.

A few years ago I did start on a hull to build a model submarine but unfortunaly life took a few sidesteps and over the period of time I lost all plans, drawings etc.
    To keep my mind bussy I desided that this is a excelent moment to revive my old idea again to start building that darn submarine :)

The plan is to design the model in Fusion with the help of plans and than 3D print most of it.

The model will be the Balao Class submarine SS-287 Bowfin in scale 1/72

And no doubt that I will run into a giant pile of problems and questions, but where is the fun if its easy :)

Oh and I almost forgot, just call me Henk
  • He Who Shall Not Be Named
    • Aug 2008

Henk,

Not a tradition, but background is useful. Now, complete the picture: what is your experience with r/c vehicles? I need to know what you know and don't know in the field. R/c submarines are not an entry level activity.

Why print a GATO when a commercially available kit of the thing is available? https://youtu.be/INq9OqWFJys

Start with something simpler, like the 1/72 SKIPJACK. https://youtu.be/n_9KW9RuEnM https://youtu.be/r7SbUgb3HyY

Click image for larger version

Name:	008 (3).JPG
Views:	238
Size:	56.6 KB
ID:	143917Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN0267.JPG
Views:	216
Size:	69.3 KB
ID:	143918

David
    Who is John Galt?

Comment

• Henk Freubelaer
      Lieutenant, Junior Grade
      • Sep 2020

Thank you for your reply Master.
      (yes your reputation is known XD)

In the past I did quite some modeling, mostly static 1/35 stuff.
      But I did build a ship and have some experience with RC cars.
      I am aware of the big RC equipment changes of today.