X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • trout
    Admiral
    • Jul 2011

Aluminaut Research Submarine 1/96th Scale

I started this build several months ago, and posted on another site, but I wanted to move it here after clearing it with Mike and David. So, to catch up, there will be some bulk postings. I am not an expert and I make a ton of mistakes, but that is not a bad thing. I share the blunders and the successes. It gives others an opportunity to learn what works, what did not, and what they may do better than what i will/have do/done. I want to experience many different aspects of this hobby. This is the small side of r/c submarines. O.K. before David yells at me to get on with it......

This 1/96 Aluminaut Research Submarine is by Scale Model Castings and it is a beauty!

Here is what came in the kit. The part that was missing was the portal windows. I was told I would get them.
    Click image for larger version

Name:	Aluminaut research submarine 01.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	96.3 KB
ID:	102143
    There are some excellent details in this little sub. This is one of the saddle tanks. In the real sub, it would be filled with sand.

Name:	Aluminaut research submarine 02.jpg
Size:	100.7 KB
ID:	102144
    This is the deck.

Name:	Aluminaut research submarine 03.jpg
Size:	96.9 KB
ID:	102145
    And this is a bag of goodies for making the arms, grating for basket, etc.

Name:	Aluminaut research submarine 04.jpg
Size:	90.3 KB
ID:	102146
    There are some castings in here (like the railings/guard for one) that really show off Rick's talent.

Name:	Aluminaut research submarine 05.jpg
Size:	109.3 KB
ID:	102147
    Scrubbed down parts preparing for painting.

Name:	Aluminaut research submarine 06.jpg
Size:	86.5 KB
ID:	102148
    There are a few parts that took a bit of hunting down. I have circled the pieces I was not sure of and where I believe they go.

Name:	Aluminaut research submarine 07c.jpg
Size:	89.2 KB
ID:	102149