• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • ConcreteTurtle
    Lieutenant, Junior Grade
    • Jan 2009

Resin problem.

Hi Guys,

I don't know if I should be worried about this or not, but there is some discolouration and crumbling on the interior tray of my 3.5in subdriver where it attaches to the aft plug.

Click image for larger version

Name:	Interior_Tray.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	96.8 KB
ID:	99588

Given that there is not a huge amount of load passing through this area, I'm guessing it's ok. I thought I'd run it by you all to be sure. (I am a newbie after all)

What's the opinion, should I replace / reinforce this part or leave it be?

Cheers,

CT.
    Last edited by ConcreteTurtle; 09-27-2009, 09:04 AM. Reason: Adding clarity, removing typos.
  • He Who Shall Not Be Named
    • Aug 2008

My fault -- that's a short-shot pour of the equipment rails which was fixed by quickly mixing up some topping-off resin and pouring it into the tool before the initial batch of resin could cure. The discoloration is a result of a slight difference in ratio between the two mixes. Don't sweat it.

Fix it only if it breaks. Not a biggie. If you have too, cut slots across the bridge line, fill with baking soda and squirt on thin formula CA -- that'll bond the two areas up good.

Not ignoring your request for help on how to cram ten-pounds of **** into a five-pound bag (your AKULA SD equipment layout issue) -- I'm taking shots right now of a similar SD and battery WTC arrangement just worked out for my 1/72 SKIPJACK model I'm getting ready for next weekends show. I'll have pictures and comment on that up later today, and that little essay should give you some good device installation ideas.

Your work looks fine. Finish the damn thing, already!

David,
    Who is John Galt?

Comment

• ConcreteTurtle
      Lieutenant, Junior Grade
      • Jan 2009

Many thanks David, just happy to know it's not a problem.

Appreciate your help on the layout issue also, I look forward to seeing how it's meant to look.