X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • MrMopar
    Ensign
    • Aug 2011

D&E 1.25 Sub Driver assembly???

I just purchased the Revell Skipjack SD and fittings. Are there any instructions available anywhere? Seems to be an orphan as I can not find any info anywhere. I am not new to RC or scale models, but I am new to submarines, and it would be a big help if I could at least get some info on where/how to modify the model's hull, and some detailed pictures of the SD assembly.

Thanks in advance for any help available.
  • jlday1256
    Lieutenant
    • Jun 2011

I was in the same position with the 2.0 and Seawolf. There is a lot of information on the Caswell site that you just need to read/watch and absorb. To the best of my knowledge there are no: 1. do this, 2. do this, 3. do this, instructions for assembly. Even some of the Cabal reports that Dave Merriman has done for the Seawolf, are incomplete and have images missing. Right now Dave is cleaning up from Hurricane Irene (he is in Norfolk). But, he is very responsive to thought out questions. Don't expect him to hold your hand all through assembly.

Watch some of the videos on the SubDrivers, then, I recommend that you take a day, or a few hours at least, get together everything that you have (parts for the 1.25), and free lance it. You will find the basic design simple, elegant, and it will make sense (only eventually). I think some of the best information on the concepts involved and assembly are with the videos. Don't look for just the 1.5s, look at all the sub driver information. Initially, you will feel like you are drinking from a fire hose, but it will all come together.
    Last edited by jlday1256; 08-31-2011, 11:26 AM.
    Doodah
    If you ignore the problem long enough, it will go away. Even flooding stops eventually!

Comment

• He Who Shall Not Be Named
      • Aug 2008

Originally posted by MrMopar