Type XXIII U Boat Alanger or Special Navy?

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Kazzer
    • Aug 2008

Type XXIII U Boat Alanger or Special Navy?

Click image for larger version

Name:	XXIII..jpg
Views:	1
Size:	98.8 KB
ID:	99827

We've just developed a kit for the U Boat XXIII in 1:72 scale and as there are two almost identical models on the market, I thought it prudent to do a comparison.

The Alanger model is 19.75" long
    The Special Navy model is 18.75 " long

If you look at the data from Wikipedia you'll see that the overall length is listed at 113' 10" or 1366". Divide by the scale (72) =18.97" Therefore, an accurate scale model should be this length. It looks like the Special Navy model is more accurate, being less than 1/4" out. The Special Navy model is approximately $50 more expensive than the Alanger.

There is an protrusion on the front of the keel on the Special Navy boat not apparent on the Alanger model.
    I'm no expert on this boat, so I'd like to ask what differences you may see to sway a modeler's choice.
    Alanger
    20.00%
    Special Navy
    80.00%
    Stop messing about - just get a Sub-driver!
  • Outrider
    Commander
    • Aug 2008

Special Navy appears more accurate. Though The Alanger costs less, if you care to fix its shortcomings you'll likely end up spending more (especially if you factor in the value of your time). Since the plastic model kit is a minor expense in the overall package, it probably makes sense to buy the better base kit and move on. (FYI, I posted links to reviews of each kit on an earlier thread that are repeated here for the reader's convenience.) See this thread for some useful info on the Type XXIII: