• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Russ Jarvis
    Ensign
    • Jun 2014

HELP!! I'm new to this!

Hi all,
    I'm what you would call an extreme novice to submarines, but I thought I'd challenge myself to make and create something that I've never attempted before...
    Sounds stupid, but what are the fundamentals I need to get my project off the ground (or into the water)

My aims are to have it do what a sub would normally do... But be able to control it from my smart phone.

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Cheers Russ.
  • He Who Shall Not Be Named
    • Aug 2008

First off, Russ: R/c model submarining is not an 'entry level' r/c vehicle activity.

Give the class your qualifications to date. Then I'll tell you if you're ready to take this plunge.

M
    Who is John Galt?

Comment

• KevinMc
      Commander
      • Feb 2009

Originally posted by Russ Jarvis
      My aims are to have it do what a sub would normally do... But be able to control it from my smart phone.
      Hi Russ,

I don't want to be a wet blanket, but understand that the radio in your phone (bluetooth and WiFi) operate at 2.4GHz and has far too little power to get a signal to any depth under water - it's a really neat idea but I'd save that one for a surface runner.

KMc
      Kevin McLeod - Oscar II driver
      KMc Designs

Comment

• Russ Jarvis
        Ensign
        • Jun 2014

Hi Kevin,
        Thats just the advice I kinda needed...

And he who shall not be named...
        As for my qualifications? I don't see how they're prevalent to what I am asking...
        Am I a engineer? No
        Am i a electrician? No
        Do I get up in the morning put my clothes on and go to work? Yes...