X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • crazygary
    Captain
    • Sep 2012

Lindberg 1/240 Gato?

Am a total newbie to the sub scene as I have yet to undertake a build! This will occur once my current "target" build has been completed!! ( Carol Moran tug! )

I have a 1/144 Trumpeter Kilo kit in my hobby room, and will likely kick off my r/c sub "career" with her, but am intrigued by the smaller sized subs, as my pool width may, or may not, play well with the turning radius of the Kilo! ( Fingers crossed!)

Anyhoo, was wondering if anyone has converted one of these little Lindberg Gatos successfully to r/c? Being only about 15 1/2" in length seems a bit restrictive as far as electronics goes, but....Where there's a will, there's a way!! Being an old machinist, I'm pretty sure I can come up with something viable.

BTW! The 1/240 scale designation is the way the kit is advertised on EBAY!! May well be 1/???.

Any points in the right direction would be most appreciated.

Many thanks, in advance, for your valued input!!
  • He Who Shall Not Be Named
    • Aug 2008

You want to start in at this hobby by building a Faberge Egg? No! You're not ready for that yet. Start with something eaiser (read: bigger).

David
    Who is John Galt?

Comment

• crazygary
      Captain
      • Sep 2012

Thanks, Dave!

About the biggest I can run in my pool is gonna be the Trumpeter Kilo!! I believe she can turn in a 10 foot circle??
      Would have liked to go bigger, like Dumas' Akula, but at 33", might have been problematic!! I live in the foothills a little east of Fresno, CA, and not a whole lot in the way of ponds up here!! Hence the pool!!

Was just kind of interested in the challenge of the smaller subs! The kit for the Lindberg Gato has been ordered, but can sit on the shelf until I get my feet wet in this aspect of the hobby!! Still sounds pretty intriguing, tho'!

Other than the Kilo, what else would you suggest for a first time sub guy??

Comment

• Aug 2008