X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • jlday1256
    Lieutenant
    • Jun 2011

Doodah Day's Seawolf Build

I have been meaning to post my progress with my Trumpeter Seawolf and 2" SubDriver. I have had the kit and all the applicable pieces parts for almost a month and loving the experience so far.

I am a retired USAF Lt Col. Airplane driver (KC-135) and a RC sailboat buff. I have been doing rag boats for about 4 years (although I took a year out due to an auto accident - left me somewhat disabled). Anyway, the subs have always been a fascination for me, the real ones and well as what I have seen on the web. I was looking for something that I can work with on days when there is no wind and am not a speedboat fan. Subs seemed like a natural. Not a performance hobby, more of a technical mechanical work.

The Trumpeter kit is a nice kit. According to Merriman, it has good scale features, although some need some minor tweaking (transducers, bow plane position, Pump Jet).

I took allot from Merriman's suggestions. It has been a long time since I worked with a plastic kit and his suggestions on adhesives, fillers, and building have been more than helpful. If you are new to subs (both appearance and the WTC/wet hull concept), you have your work cut out for you (I have always hated that expression, it seems it would be harder if someone hadn't cut your work out for you). Anyway, some observations on the build:

For the first week or so, your life is cutting holes. Seems to go against everything I have ever done with boats. Of course, these are meant to sink anyway. Hole cutting is made easier with a Dremmel tool, a good set of grinding and cutting bits, and a set of small files.